November 21, 2013
by Feeding America

Our CEO Bob Aiken was on Capitol Hill last week, meeting with key decision makers in the Farm Bill negotiations. Decisions around cuts to critical nutrition programs like SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program) and TEFAP (The Emergency Food Assistance Program) are expected to be made within the next few weeks. The Senate has proposed nearly $4 billion in cuts to SNAP over a 10 year time period. The House has proposed a severe $39 billion in cuts to SNAP over a ten year time period.

When cuts are made to federal nutrition programs, charities are left to fill the gap. Feeding America does everything we can to make sure no one goes hungry, but charity alone cannot fill this massive hole. We actively engage Members of Congress and mobilize our supporters to reinforce our policy priorities. Together, we are asking farm bill conference committee members to invest in TEFAP and protect SNAP.

To spread awareness, please consider sharing this video. SNAP put food on the table for these Americans when they needed help the most. Ask your representatives to protect SNAP in the farm bill and help our neighbors in need.

If you work with or are in the district of a member of the farm bill conference committee, please contact them this week using our toll free line: 888-398-8702. Here is the full list of farm bill conference committee members:

  • Rep. Austin Scott (R-Ga.)
  • Rep. Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Ranking Member of House Agriculture Committee
  • Rep. Dave Camp (R-Mich.), chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee
  • Rep. Ed Royce (R-Calif.), chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee
  • Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY), ranking member on House Foreign Affairs Committee
  • Rep. Filemon Vela (D-Tex.)
  • Rep. Frank D. Lucas (R-Okla.), Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee
  • Rep. Glenn 'GT' Thompson (R-Pa.)
  • Rep. Gloria Negrete McLeod (D-Calif.)
  • Rep. Jeff Denham (R-Calif.)
  • Rep. Jim Costa (D-Calif.)
  • Rep. Jim McGovern (D-Mass.)
  • Rep. K. Michael Conaway (R-Tex.)
  • Rep. Kristi Noem (R-S.D.)
  • Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-Ore.)
  • Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-Ohio)
  • Rep. Martha Roby (R-Ala.)
  • Rep. Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.)
  • Rep. Mike Rogers (R-Ala.)
  • Rep. Randy Neugebauer (R-Tex.)
  • Rep. Rick Crawford (R-Ark.)
  • Rep. Rodney Davis (R-Ill.)
  • Rep. Sam Johnson (R-Tex.)
  • Rep. Sandy Levin (D-MI), ranking member on House Ways and Means Committee
  • Rep. Steve King (R-Iowa)
  • Rep. Steve Southerland (R-Fla.)
  • Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-Wash.)
  • Rep. Tim Walz (D-Minn.)
  • Rep. Tom Marino (R-Pa.)
  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)
  • Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee
  • Sen. John Boozman (R-Ark.)
  • Sen. John Hoeven (R-N.D.)
  • Sen. Max Baucus (D-Mont.)
  • Sen. Michael Bennet (D-Colo.)
  • Sen. Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)
  • Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)
  • Sen. Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.)
  • Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
  • Sen. Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Ranking Member of the Senate Agriculture Committee
  • Sen. Tom Harkin (D-Iowa)
Learn more and become a hunger advocate at

Tags: SNAP

Stay Informed

Get email updates about what we're doing to help solve hunger and how you can help.